Easy Homemade Tomato Soup

Easy, Homemade Tomato Soup-- low carb

I love tomato soup. There’s something about the warm hardiness of it that makes my stomach happy and my taste buds dance for joy. Before I went low carb, I love pairing my soup with grilled cheese. Now that I eat low carb, I’ve moved on to pairing it with fried cheese (halloumi).

I’ve been making my own tomato soup for years, but this is my favourite recipe. To me, it tastes like I’ve spent hours letting it slowly bubble away on the stove. The reality is, this recipe takes less than 30 minutes to make from start to finish.

  • Ingredients:
  • 2 cans of chopped or puréed tomatoes (your choice)
  • 2 strips of uncooked bacon
  • 1 cup full fat milk
  • 1/2 cup beef/ chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbsp mixed Italian herbs
  • 1 bay leaf

Directions:

  1. Put a sauce pan over medium heat.
  2. Thinly slice the bacon and add it to the sauce pot. Add bacon to the sauce pot
  3. Dice the onion and add to the sauce pot.
  4. Add the tbsp of butter. Mix and let the onion and bacon cook together for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add the tomatoes, tomato purée, and herbs to the pot. Let cook for 5-10 minutes until the mixture starts to simmer.
  6. Add the broth and full fat milk. Return the soup to a simmer. Homemade tomato soup. Low carb
  7. Enjoy!

My Notes:

  • I didn’t add any salt to the soup, since the bacon and broth had plenty
  • of salt already.
  • You can use bouillon or broth cubes if you don’t have fresh broth on hand, just check the carb and sugar count.
  • I like a nice, chunky soup. However, if you’d prefer a more-liquidy soup, you can purée or blend your soup at the end. Just be careful not to burn yourself.
  • Not everyone likes large bits of onions. If I was making this soup for guests, I would have grated the onion before adding it to the sauce pan.

This Recipe is also found on:
The Crowned Goat

Creating My Way

Titus 2

Lady bug blessings

Miz Helens country cottage

No minimalist Here

The country cook

The Jenny evolution

Creative K Kids

7 comments

Leave a comment