Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Gluten Free and Ready in 30 Minutes.

Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Quick, easy and gluten free.

It’s a chilly and rainy day here in London. I’m wearing fuzzy slippers, a warm dress, and scarf. I am also wrapped in a blanket and am sipping a cup of tea, but I am still cold. It’s mid September, which means it’s too early to turn on the heat. Without a doubt, the weather has me thinking of piping hot comfort foods. For lunch, I made my Easy Homemade Tomato Soup. It warmed me for a bit, but I’m really looking forward to something more substantial for supper– hence today’s recipe.

This meal cooks up in 30 minutes from start to finish. That includes the time it takes to make the zoodles (zucchini noodles). I know most stroganoff recipes call for soured cream, however I enjoy the extra creaminess the cream cheese gives this recipe.

I do apologise for the slightly odd measurements. Recipes don’t always convert well from metric to imperial. However, rest assured– cooking is not a fine chemistry like baking, where measurement need to be precise. In another words, if your recipe has a little extra cream cheese, all the better!

Ingredients:

  • 750 grams/ 1.6 lbs of ground beef
  • 200 grams/ 7 oz cream cheese
  • heaping tablespoon garlic
  • heaping tablespoon mixed herbs
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 stock cube
  • 1/2 cup full fat milk
  • 1 onion
  • 1 package mushrooms (you choose how many mushrooms you want in your dish)
  • 3 standard sized courgettes/ zucchini.

Directions:

  1. Place the frying pan over medium heat and melt the butter. While the butter is melting, slice an onion and the mushrooms and add them to the melted butter. Let them fry for three to five minutes so that they can begin to soften and take on a buttery flavour. While they fry up, you can wash the zucchini. Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Gluten free & delicious.
  2. After three to five minutes, add the ground beef to the frying pan. At this point I like to season the beef with a little salt and pepper to start building the flavours.
  3. While the beef is cooking, start spirallising the zucchini. Stop every so often to stir the contents in the frying pan. Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Gluten free & delicious.
  4.  Once the beef is cooked, add the remaining seasonings and mix in. I usually throw the stock cube in and break it up with the spatula.
  5.  After the herbs are fully mixed in, incorporate the cream cheese and milk. I start by mixing the cream cheese through and then thinning it with the milk. Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Gluten free & easy to make.
  6.  Once the stroganoff has warmed back up and the sauce has thickened, it’s ready to serve. Enjoy!

Low Carb Beef Stroganoff: Gluten free and ready in 30 minutes.

2 comments

    • It probably wouldn’t hurt. So long as you watch your carb intake, you should stay/ fall back into ketosis. I’m debating what I should do. I’m still in weight loss purgatory. And, I’ve been sticking to my work outs. 😔

      Like

Leave a Reply

