Banting A Year On

T h e L i l y p a d (1)

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. Life has been a bit hectic. In the time since I last posted, I’ve gone back to the States, where I applied for a fiance visa, so J and I could get married. I’ve also planned a wedding, gotten married and am working on the paper work for the spousal visa (the appointment is on the 8th of June. Yay!)

During that period of time, I’ve stuck to eating a low carb, Banting diet. Well, except for coming off for Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter and the wedding. And, despite the stress and the extended breaks for holidays (J and I took two and a half weeks off for Christmas and our wedding), I’ve continued to lose weight at a slow, but steady pace.

Since starting on Banting a year ago, I’ve lost six inches from my waist and I feel really good. I still have consistent energy throughout the day. I don’t crave sweets. I don’t feel gittery and crabby in-between meals. And, best of all, I’m losing weight without even really trying. Yes, I do make sure to do some form of physical activity. However, a 30 minute walk or 20 minutes of yoga isn’t promoting muscle gain, hard-core fat burning or anything like that. This is important to me, because I want my weight loss to be a long term thing. I don’t want to start a crazy exercise regimen and lose a bunch of weight only to gain it all back when I stop working out. I know myself. I know I won’t stick to anything strict.

The long and short of what I’m trying to say is, I love eating a low carb, Banting diet. I enjoy how easy it is. And yes, I can honestly say it is something I will continue doing for the long term.

 

Leave a Reply

