Low Carb Corned Beef Hash: A Brunch Necessity

Low Carb Corned Beef Hash: A Brunch Necessity

This is a great recipe for those Saturday or Sunday mornings when you wake up and realize you had too much wine the night before. Not that I often get completely drunk and end up with a hang over. But, there are those times when I do indulge a little too much and feel tired and gross the next morning.

I’ve never been one of those people who turns green and throws up when I have an upset stomach. Maybe it’s from a lifetime of suffering with motion sickness (I can get motion sick just from going too quickly around a round about)? Either way, my go to remedy for any sort of illness has always been some sort of food. When I have the flu, it’s a brothy soup, when I’m hung over, it’s something fatty and greasy.

Nonetheless, this recipe isn’t just geared towards drowsy Saturday mornings– it’s perfect for any lazy morning breakfast. It reminds me of my Dad making his version of a fried breakfast. It also reminds me of my family’s Sunday ritual of church and then brunch. Topped with a fried egg and slathered in hot sauce, this really is quintessential brunch material.

Ingredients:

  • 3 zucchini/ courgettes
  • 1 onion
  • 2-3 tbsp butter
  • 1 can corned beef
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 egg per person
  • optional: hot sauce

Directions:

  1.  Place the frying pan over medium heat. Add butter to the pan and allow to melt. While the butter is melting, chop the onion and add it to the pan and allow to fry by itself for a few minutes.
  2. Chop the zucchini and add it to the pan with the onions. Stir and allow to saute for a few minutes. Low Carb Corned Beef Hash-- A Breakfast Necessity
  3. While the zucchini is sautéing, dice the corned beef and then add it to the frying pan.
  4. Season the hash with a little salt and pepper. I like my hash peppery, so I tend to add closer to a tablespoon of pepper to mine. Low Carb Corned Beef Hash: A Breakfast Necessity
  5. Once the corned beef has warmed through and the zucchini and onions are tender, the hash is ready to serve. I like to have mine with a fried egg on top.

Enjoy!

Low Carb Corned Beef Hash

Leave a Reply

