Week 20 On Banting: The Easy Low Carb Diet

Week 20 On Banting: The Easy Low Carb Diet

I haven’t measured myself yet this week, so I’m not sure if I’ve lost any weight. However, I have been in weight-loss purgatory for the last month. In a way it’s been good for me. Over the last few weeks, I’ve started to really see how much weight I’ve lost. Before, I was having a difficult time seeing that I’ve lost weight. When I looked in the mirror, I saw the same person looking back at me.

I finally clicked that I’m losing weight when I was sorting through pictures of J and I. I could visibly see that my face has gotten a little thinner. Then, there’s how I feel. I’ve always been strong. However, it’s been nice to touch my stomach and actually feel that ‘yes, I do have abs under there.’

That being said, I do want to reach my goal. I want to be fully into a size 18 US/ 22 UK by the end of October. Then, I want to work my way down to a size 16 US/ 20 UK and hopefully onto a 14 US/ 18 UK in the 6 months following. To try and push through my plateau, I’ve done a lot of research, as well as received advice from great friends and family members.

Through the advice and research, I’ve learned that sometimes the body stalls during weight loss, because it needs to adjust to itself. The advice that I’ve found regarding breaking through a plateau on LCHF diets is to either cut carbs back to between 20-25 g, cut back on or eliminate dairy, or try upping carb intake to shock the body.

I’ve decided to cut my carbs down to 20 g this week and limit my dairy intake. If this doesn’t help move me back into weight loss, J and I have talked about taking a break for a week. Even though I have hit a plateau on Banting, one thing has become evident– I’m happy eating this way, and I don’t want to go back to eating how I was before. In fact, I’m nervous about taking longer than a couple days off.  So, even if it takes me months longer to break through my plateau, I have no plans on going back to eating a conventional high carb diet.

In other news, I’ve made the decision to reduce how often I post. I have plans to post at least once a week. However, with J and I filing for a Fiance Visa in the near future so we can get married, and my returning to America while we wait for said visa to come through, I’m not sure I can commit to posting more often. Please bear with me during the next few months.

Weigh, Lose or Stay - Laura's Lovely Blog
2 comments

  1. I love your attitude Kayla and I think you are doing so well. I hope this week is the end of plateau misery. I think it’s perfectly understandable you are going to post less, but I look forward to reading when you do xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

