Week 16 on Banting: The Easy Low Carb Diet

Week 16 on Banting: The Easy Low Carb Diet

My initial plan was to post an update about my progress on Banting last week. However, when I measured myself, I’d gone up 2cm all over. I was upset by this, because I didn’t think that I’d changed anything in my diet that could cause me to gain 2 cm. As a result, I ended up not writing a post, because I was too busy analysing what I’d done wrong.

After thinking about it, I realised that I’d been having a glass of wine regularly with dinner. Although wine is low in carb, it pulls a person’s body out of ketosis while the alcohol is being processed by the liver.

I don’t think the wine is the sole reason for my weight gain. Nonetheless, it is probably a contributing factor, along with having had a treat day and the normal fluctuations my body goes through during the month.

I measured myself this morning, even though J didn’t think it was a good idea since it could make me feel down again. I’ve gone back to almost where I was. Although I’m encouraged by that, I’m still a bit shocked by how easily a little weight gain upset me. I hadn’t realised that I was putting so much pressure on myself to lose weight.  I’m honestly not sure if it’s because I’m goal focused or if there’s something more to it.

On the positive, I’ve been sticking to my daily walks, along with doing some strength training on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s. Bowser still doesn’t know what to make of me working out. However, instead of trying to play with me, he now sits on the couch and watches me.

What about you, how are you doing? Also, how do you handle it when you’re not making progress on your diet?

Weigh, Lose or Stay - Laura's Lovely Blog
Leave a Reply

