Low Carb Sardine Bruschetta

image

J and I love sardines. I know they’re not everyone’s favourite. I’m not here to convert you if you’re not already in the sardine fan club, but seriously, you should give this recipe a try, because it doesn’t taste like sardines. If you really can’t stomach the fish, then feel free to swap the sardines for canned tuna or mackerel.

Our sardine love led J and I to stock up. The only problem was, we’d gotten a bit excited and our cupboard was brimming with sardine tins. I don’t know about you, but I can only eat a sardine salad so many times before getting bored of it. So, with the mission of reducing our fishy inventory, I set out to brainstorm some ways of using it.

Last weekend, when I was grocery shopping, I saw the eggplant (aubergine) was on sale and it finally dawned on me what I could do with the sardines. I could make low carb sardine bruschetta!

I hope you enjoy this as much as J and I did!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans sardines in tomato sauce
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 eggplants (aubergines)
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 1 tbsp mixed herbs
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 3/4 – 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • Olive oil for drizzling

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 375-400′ Fahrenheit (200′ Celsius)
  2. Slice the eggplant (aubergine) in 1/4″ rounds and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper or tin foil. Drizzle with olive oil and lightly sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  3. Thinly slice the tomatoes and place on the baking sheet as well. Drizzle with oil.
    Place the baking sheet with the eggplant (aubergine) and tomatoes into the hot oven and bake for 20 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, add the sardines, a pinch of salt, pepper, basil, mixed herbs, mayonnaise and 1/2 cup of cheese to a food processor and blend until well mixed.
  5. Once you remove the baking sheet from the oven, add the roasted tomatoes to the food processor and mix until well blended.
  6. Using a tablespoon, place a little sardine mixture on each eggplant (aubergine), then top each one with some shredded cheese.
  7. Place the baking sheet back in the hot oven for another 10 – 15 minutes, or until the cheese is sufficiently melted and browned.

image

I had a little left-over sardine paste, but J ended up finishing it off before it could even make it to the fridge.

This Recipe is also linked on:

The Country Cook

The Jenny Evolution 

The Crowned Goat 

Creating My Way 

Creatively Homespun 

Titus 2

Lady Bug Blessings

Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

No Minimalist Here

7 comments

Leave a Reply

