Pork & Egg Fried Cauliflower Rice

image

One thing I realised over my treat weekend is that I miss how easy a high carb diet is. I mean, how many things are simpler or quicker than making a sandwich, popping a frozen pizza in the oven or pouring a bowl of cereal? The ease of a carb-saturated diet is one of the few things that makes it appealing. However, as most are aware, just because something is readily available and abundant doesn’t mean it’s a good option.

I’m a convert to a high fat low carb diet. I like how in control I feel when I’m on it. I also am enjoying the resulting weight loss. That being said, it could be incredibly easy to slip back into a high carb lifestyle if I’m not careful to include some quick, easy and inexpensive meals in my weekly menu. The pork and egg fried cauliflower rice is one such meal. I usually prepare the whole thing from start to finish in 23-30 minutes.

This recipe has become a mainstay in my diet and I make it at least once a week. It’s easy to add variety to by using whatever left-over meat scraps you have on hand as well as changing the vegetables you add.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Head of cauliflower
  • Vegetables such as mushrooms and a bell pepper
  • 6 eggs
  • Leftover pork, bacon or other meat scraps
  • Butter for frying
  • 2 Tbsp crushed or grated ginger
  • 2 Tbsp crushed garlic
  • 1/4 tsp Pepper
  • 1/4 Cup soy sauce
  • Pepper flakes to taste or you can use chilli oil

Directions:

  1. Wash your cauliflower and turn into cauliflower rice.
  2. Place frying pan over medium heat and melt a few tablespoons of butter. Once the butter is melted, add the cauliflower rice and start to fry.
  3. While the cauliflower rice is cooking, chop your vegetables and add to the rice.
    Add the garlic, ginger, pepper flakes and soy sauce and more butter if needed.
  4. As the cauliflower rice is getting close to being done, add the meat scraps.
  5. In a separate bowl, crack the eggs and beat them together.
  6. Pour eggs over the top of the rice and thoroughly mixed.
  7. Cook rice until the eggs are fully cooked, stirring every so often to prevent the rice from burning.
  8. Serve with a dollop of sour cream or drizzle of chilli oil.

image

This recipe is shared on:

The Country Cook

The Jenny Evolution 

The Crowned Goat

Creating My Way 

Titus 2

Lady Bug Blessings

Miz Helen’s Country Cottage 

No Minimalist Here 

Carole’s Chatter

Creative K Kids
10 comments

  1. I would love you to stop by Food on Friday: Rice & Grains over at Carole’s Chatter to add this to the recipe collection! Cheers!
    PS If you would like to be part of the Food on Friday group, just put a reminder in your calendar this time each week to check out the new theme or email me if you would like a reminder by email. You can also see the themes coming up in one of the tabs at the top of my home page

    Like

    • Thank you! A lot of people aren’t fans of the strong flavour cauliflower has, but I find if cauliflower is roasted or pan fried, it gets rid of the flavour.

      I’ll definitely be back for another Tasty Tuesday ☺️.

      Like

Leave a Reply

