Week 8 Living Low Carb

‘J’ and I have been on Banting for 8 weeks. I can’t believe time has gone so fast. It seems like only a couple weeks ago I got back from spending time with friends and family in the states. I can’t believe it’s the last day of June, and that it’s almost the 4th of July.

So, how have things been going? Well, I have a confession to make. I’ve been dealing with a bout of homesickness. Summer is when I miss home the most. Even when I was living in Wisconsin, I found myself longing for summer back in my home state Minnesota.

For many people in the states, Minnesota is seen as a ‘fly over’ state. They think Minnesota is always cold and ice covered, and that we ice fish year round. That’s fine. They don’t know what they’re missing, and it’s probably better that way.

A typical lake in Minnesota. Don't you want to jump in?
A typical lake in Minnesota. Don’t you want to jump in?
And another gorgeous lake in Minnesota.
And another gorgeous lake in Minnesota.

Minnesota is the land of sky-blue-waters; the land of 10,000 lakes and the home of Paul Bunyan. Every summer when it starts to get hot, I find myself longing for the beautiful, clean lakes of Minnesota. I miss the smell of a cool breeze coming off the lake. I miss jumping into the cool clear water on a hot day and feeling refreshed. I miss floating in a cool, calm lake and being left absolutely alone. But, perhaps what I miss most of all is my family. Especially as I near this holiday weekend.

I genuinely enjoy my experiences and my time here in London. But, it doesn’t stop the strange feeling I have when I think about how this weekend all my friends and family will be together celebrating and enjoying the fireworks. I never enjoyed the crowds of people or the overly patriotic atmosphere. But, now that I’m not surrounded by it, I miss it.

So, how does my homesickness tie into my weight loss journey? Well, I’ve found that I want to eat more. I’m not hungry– I stopped needing snacks weeks ago. However, my slightly depressed state has caused me to want to relapse on my emotional eating. So far I’ve been able to manage myself and not binge. I’ve accomplished this by keeping myself busy. And, when all else fails, I spend some time on Pinterest zoning out.

Besides managing my homesickness, I’ve found that my time on Banting is going well. I still enjoy how balanced I feel on a low carb diet. I know some people find that being on a low carb diet is torture, but I am happy to continue eating this way.

My progress since June 19th:

Bust: lost 1.8 cm
Waist: lost .5 cm
Hips: lost 4 cm
Legs: No change
Arms: lost 5.4 cm

I don’t have a scale, so I haven’t been weighing myself, but I find measuring myself to be more accurate. Also, I switched to measuring myself in centimetres since it’s easier to track small losses and maintain my motivation.

What about you, are you trying to lose weight? How’s it going? I’d love to hear about your experience no matter if it’s good or bad.

This post is also linked on http://www.laurasummers.co.uk Visit her blog and check out her weight loss by using The Cambridge Diet.

Weigh, Lose or Stay - Laura's Lovely Blog
5 comments

  1. Hi Kayla – well done on your weightloss – although I would struggle without scales – but maybe you could pop along to Boots every couple of weeks?
    I struggle with emotional eating too – it’s such a hard habit to break and refocus your energies elsewhere. For me it’s when I have been up a lot in the night with the kids I just want to eat! Or actually just whenever I’m feeling down.
    Ps – those lakes just look gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

